Useful Links

Useful Links

The Howard Partnership Trust (THPT) is a Surrey based Multi-Academy Trust, comprising 4 secondary and 6 primary phase schools. We are proud of our ethos of collaboration and inclusion, "Bringing out the best" in students of all abilities and backgrounds. Visit website

Part of The Howard Partnership Trust


Level GCSE
Exam Board AQA

The majority of students will follow the Combined Science GCSE course which covers the three Science disciplines in the traditional fashion, now know as Trilogy.

For a small number of students it will be more appropriate to take three awards in Science separately, Biology, Chemistry and Physics - Separate Sciences. 

All Science GCSEs have been rewritten in line with government changes and incorporate the new grading system, replacing A*-G with 9-1, 9 being the highest grade and 1 the lowest grade. 

Combined Science


Practicals are an essential part of student understanding of scientific theory. Parts of the course content are taught through 16 required practicals; these will be examined in the final examinations.

The qualification has six examination papers at the end of the course - two each for Biology, Chemistry and Physics - all 1¼ hours in length

The papers are equally weighted, each being worth 16.7% of the total mark


There will be a 17 point grading scale from 9-9, 9-8, 8-8, 8-7 through to 2-1, 1-1

Separate Sciences


Biology, Chemistry and Physics are treated as three separate qualifications. Each will be assessed by two examinations of 1¾ hours in length. The papers are equally weighted which means each is worth 50% of the total mark


Biology, Chemistry and Physics will each receive a grading from 9 to 1

Post-16 Choices

GCSEs in Combined Science or Triple Science feed into any of the AS and A-Level Sciences and BTEC Level 3 Applied Science courses.

Staff Contacts
Combined Science - Mrs L Bond -
Biology Mrs K Edwards -
Chemistry Mr D Stoneman -
Physics Mrs L Bond -